Fire Door CHECKmaterix™

Fire Door CHECKmaterix™

Fire Door CHECKmaterix

Fire door sets in a building can be put into four categories; those that are:

  1. Critical and High Usage
  2. Critical and Low Usage
  3. Non-Critical and High Usage
  4. Non-Critical and Low Usage

Without a great deal of effort it should be possible for a designer, fire engineer, building owner, occupier or risk assessor to categorise the fire doorsets in a building in this way. When doing so it will be necessary to take into account both the strategic importance of the building (and therefore to what extent property and business continuity is a key consideration) and the evacuation strategy. Especially if the building has a 'stay put' policy, determining which doors are critical must factor in adequate protection for Fire and Rescue in the event of a major fire incident.

Important points to consider:

Critical and High Usage:
Critical and Low Usage:
Non Critical and High Usage:
Non Critical and Low Usage:


Four further important points to consider:

  1. If those responsible for the building are uneasy, unable, unclear or unwilling to risk rate fire door sets in this way, either by themselves or with the expert guidance of others, then every doorset in the building must be thought of as critical and risk assessed, managed and maintained accordingly.

  2. It is highly recommended that any assessment of doors in this way is shared by other stakeholders such as Fire & Rescue and Insurance companies, as their agreement should be confirmation of the assessment being both suitable and sufficient.

  3. The categorising of doors should be open to regular review, especially if the occupancy, usage or nature of the building changes over time.

  4. Fire door sets must not be considered in isolation as other fire and smoke separation elements such as fire walls, glazed panels and fire barriers need the same rigour of inspection, maintenance and management.